Huron-Bruce and Grey true blue for incumbents

Huron-Bruce came out with its strong Tory blue colour and re-elected MPP Lisa Thompson for her third term in a matter of minutes.

While it appeared that it might be a close race between the PCs and the NDP province-wide, the conservatives under Doug Ford swept the province giving them a solid majority.

Thompson received over 50 per cent of the vote with 27,646, followed by NDP Jan Johnstone with 11,389, Liberal Don Matheson with 7,350, Green Nichola Wendler -1,448, Libertarian Ron Stephens – 329 and Alliance’s Gerrie Huenemoerder – 219,

Issues among the electorate included the economy and an overall desire for change in party and leadership.

The Conservative platform promised to reduce hydro rates, a key concern across the riding, and reduce business taxes and gas prices.

Thompson formerly held the position of PC Caucus Chair and served as Critic for International Trade, Indigenous Relations and Reconciliation and represented the province on a steering committee for Commonwealth Women Parliamentarians, Canadian Region.

She also held the position of Rural Community Advisor for the Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs.

Like his colleague, MPP Bill Walker has been re-elected for his third term representing Bruce-Grey Owen Sound riding.

Walker has always maintained a close relationship with the people in his riding and is now looking forward to moving from the opposition side of the floor of the Legislature to the governing party.

With more than 50 per cent of the vote, Walker was in top position with the NDP’s Karen Gventer a far second.

While in the Legislature, Walker has served as Conservative critic in several portfolios including Seniors, Long-Term Care and Accessibility, Community and Social Services, Children and Youth Services, Long-term Care & Wellness and as Deputy Health Critic for Rural and Northern Ontario.

He has been a strong advocate for Seniors and an active volunteer for Heart & Stroke Foundation, Wiarton Willie Festival and more.